2 replies, 2 voices Last updated by Profile photo of Ruth Ruth 9 months, 1 week ago
  • Author
    Profile photo of Lonny
    Lonny
    Participant
    @dagos755

Fellow herbalists,

While I’m new to the college, I am passionate about learning and am not afraid to explore the riches that God has hidden within the plant kingdom. While many of us are familiar with the historical usage of herbs, there is still much that we do not know or understand. And great discoveries are still possible. For example, a herb which might have been previously known for being nothing more than a stimulant carminiative is now found to be just as effective as nitroglycerin for treating angina pectoris, but without the unwanted side effects. To this end, I would like to see a forum where people can openly share their stories about medicinal herbs, nutrition, water, etc.

Now before I continue, I’d like to draw your attention to this quote from Pliny,

“THE more highly esteemed plants of which I am now about to speak, and which are produced by the earth for medicinal purposes solely, inspire me with admiration of the industry and laborious research displayed by the ancients. Indeed there is nothing that they have not tested by experiment or left untried; no discovery of theirs which they have not disclosed, or which they have not been desirous to leave for the benefit of posterity. We, on the contrary, at the present day, make it our object to conceal and suppress the results of our labours, and to defraud our fellow-men of blessings even which have been purchased by others. For true it is, beyond all doubt, that those who have gained any trifling accession of knowledge, keep it to themselves, and envy the enjoyment of it by others; to leave mankind uninstructed…”